10 Tummy Flattening Tips

sexybody1Months have passed and I have been so lazy doing my routine (badminton and swimming). Tired from work and going home late at night made me feel whacked. Work has great demands. Mind was preoccupied with so many stressing thoughts (life, work, family and relationships). Time was short (Everything is instant). Travel is lengthy. Am at a loss! Can’t keep track!

As a result of all these, I have now a big bulgy tummy which is not so much in proportion with my frame. Am skinny (I must say). Imagine Fido Dido of the 7-up ad? That is me with a big bloated and bulgy tummy.

As I have been teaching my students, we need to balance work and play. But it’s their professor who is the one bending his principles and what he is professing. All work! NO PLAY!

Bothered with all that, I was trying to figure out on how I would focus on my physique. Keep my body in shape. Was doing sit-ups but it seemed not to help at all. Only brought pain down my lower chest and lower back area down my tailbone. Until I bumped into one of the sites which recommends ways on how to cut the flab.

Here’s a quick guide you can follow to help flatten your stomach. You may print this list out and post it somewhere in your house where you’ll see it.

1. Walk/jog for 30 minutes at least 3 times per week to boost your metabolism in order to burn that fat.

2. Eat a small handful of almonds (local version is the talisay nut) at least 6 every morning. Almonds are one of the healthiest snacks you can eat and the protein is good for burning fat.

3. Purchase a Pilates DVD and do the exercises at least 2-3 times per week. Pilates works on toning your entire body with concentration on your powerhouse (middle section) and will improve your flexibility.

4. Add fiber to your diet and cut down your intake of the bad carbs. Foods such as white bread, pastas, potatoes, and white rice should be limited. Eat brown rice and whole wheat bread instead. To get that needed fiber, increase your intake of fresh fruits and vegetables (especially the leafy green ones).

5. Drink skim milk instead of whole milk. Keep your dairy intake at a minimum because these products often cause bloating and gas.

6. Perform proper crunches at least 3 times a week to train your abs. Avoid sit-ups because they really do very little to firm your stomach. Sit-ups work your hip flexors more than anything else.

7. Drink plenty of water. You should be drinking 6 to 8 glasses per day. Not only will it help fill you up so you eat less, but it aids in digestion.

8. Stop eating within 3 hours of bedtime. If you have to munch on something, eat a small portion of vegetables or fruit. Not eating late can make a huge difference.

9. Eat smaller meals more often instead of 2-3 big meals per day to keep from having that bloated look and feeling. Eating more meals actually kicks up your metabolism.

10. Take a break from healthy eating once and a while and treat yourself to your favorite dessert. If you completely deprive yourself of the foods you love you’ll run the risk of going back to your bad eating habits. Moderation is the key.

Just remember that the slow and steady wins the race when it comes to slimming your waistline (for the ladies) and flattening your stomach. There’s no such thing as losing your stomach fast (unless you are filthy rich or an endorser of Belo and Calayan). You have to work at it daily and remain consistent with your diet and exercise.

If you remember nothing else, remember this: A flat stomach comes with TOTAL BODY FITNESS – not just from spot toning your stomach with crunches. So let us all start anew!

8 thoughts on “10 Tummy Flattening Tips

  1. I need this. But sadly, my existence is ravaged by the time I have for my home, my kids, my husband. It’s a sad excuse, I know but oh well, I’ll get to it tomorrow. There my procrastination bone is talking again.

  2. well, trimming down is really a big challenge for everyone specially for those who really loves eating! (hehe..guilty!) and for those who are too busy to do some fitting exercises(just like us).
    Sometimes, i really wonder if the physical really matters that much! I believe that in the end, its what you have in your brain , what you have in your heart and who you are that really matters.
    But having friends that are really “mapang-okray” led me doubting these. Thus making me feel less confident with myself just because I don’t look like the famous Barbie herself! hehe.. now this is the other me talking. (eh anu naman?! basta alam qu… hehe, wag na nga lang!)
    Seriously speaking, having a bloated and bulgy tummy is not a crime. Nasa nagdadala lang yan! when you look people in the eye, they wouldn’t have the time to scrutinize your unflat tummy. Pero xempre, hindi naman natin matitingnan sa mata directly lahat ng pips na nasa paligid natin. So what to do?
    well, if you are really not comfortable with your tummy, here are some other tips that might be helpful:
    a. Less alcohol intake (look at the lasenggos, their tyans are so so big!)
    b. Less softdrinks. ( na-read ko lan somewhere ito e.)
    c. wag munang uupo after having a meal , at least 30 minutes (one of my tita is doing this and she is really very slim)
    d. stand straight. ( can’t explain why pero this is true based on my readings)
    e. eat fruits (fiber-smart speaking)
    Now, hehe, Sir ndi pa naman mxadong malaki ang tummy mu.. carry pa! 🙂

  3. hi peter! thank you so much for having found my blog interesting. am so honored that it caught your precious time and attention. and yes! i am planning to continue to post more blogs in this blogsite since readers are finding it interesting… and NO! your english is not bad at all! thanks for dropping by.

    best wishes always,
    john

  4. If you really want to lose weight, take a look at healthy carbs to increase your
    body’s metabolism. It’s as easy as that. By increasing your metabolism,
    anything you do to reduce your weight becomes much more effective.

    You can consume healthy carbs, lots of fruits and vegetables,
    and as much meat as you possibly can, and you lose weight in the process.

    If you have ever considered why there are many people who seem to be able to eat as much
    as they want without gaining weight, you know the secret now.

    It’s their metabolism, and healthy carbs play a big role. If you want to do something similar, you need to increase your own metabolism.

Leave a comment